4th Year Concerns & Questions: Language Arts Instruction

Language Arts Instruction

  • How do I create accountability for reading during class?
    • I did not love the reading response sheets. It just seemed tedious.
    • I wasn’t consistent with the “Turn and Talks” at the end of SR/DEAR time. Even so, I want 100% accountability and I feel like this strategy allows for students to slip through.
    • I tried putting a stuffed animal on top of a desk or group of students that were on-task in reading. (I called them “Star Readers”.) This actually motivated a good number of my students but it took a few minutes for me to look at my recording to see who got it last, etc. I want to be as fair as possible but that took away valuable Guided Reading and Conference time.
  • What to do about spelling…
  • How to execute novel groups better…
  • Daily Five Cafe…
    • I still have so many questions and kinks I’m still trying to figure out. This will have to be a separate post.
Leave a Reply

